Academic Staff Directory

The School of Physics has many academics with significant expertise and experience working on global issues.

Teaching & Research Staff

Head of School

James (Stuart) Burton Wyithe, BSc(Hons) PhD Melbswyithe@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5083

Deputy Head of School

Harry M Quiney, BSc(Hons) MSc Monash MA DPhil Oxonquiney@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8178

ARC Laureate Fellow and Thomas Baker Chair

Lloyd L Hollenberg, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb lloydch@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4210

ARC Future Fellow, R@MAP Fellow & Professor of Physics and Electronic Engineering

Kenneth Crozier, BSc BE(Hons) Melb MS PhD Stanford kenneth.crozier@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 2249

Redmond Barry Distinguished Professors

Geoffrey N Taylor, BSc(Hons) MSc WA PhD Hawaii FAA gntaylor@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5456
Raymond R Volkas, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb FAA FAIP raymondv@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5464
Rachel L Webster, BSc Monash MSc Sussex PhD Cantab r.webster@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5450

Professors

Luigia (Elisabetta) Barberio, MSc Bologna PhD Siegen barberio@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7072
Christopher T Chantler, BSc(Hons) UWA DPhil Oxon chantler@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5437
David N Jamieson, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb, FAIP FInstP d.jamieson@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3412
Andrew Melatos, BSc(Hons) PhD Syd amelatos@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5436
Steven D Prawer, BSc(Hons) PhD Monash DSc Melb FAA s.prawer@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5460
Ann Roberts, BSc(Hons) PhD Syd ann.roberts@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5038
Robert E Scholten, BSc Adel BSc(Hons) PhD Flinders scholten@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5457

ARC Future Fellow & Associate Professor and Reader

Nicole F Bell, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb n.bell@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3112

Associate Professors

Michelle K Livett, BSc(Hons) PhD LaTrobe DipEd MCAE m.livett@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8071
Andrew McCallum Martin, BSc(Hons) PhD Lancaster martinam@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0550
Jeffrey C McCallum, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb jeffreym@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8072
Roger P Rassool, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb rogerpr@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5110
Martin E Sevior, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb FAIP martines@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5438
Michele Trenti, MSc PhD SNS Pisamichele.trenti@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3703

ARC Future Fellows & Senior Lecturers

Christian Reichardt, BSc PhD Caltech christian.reichardt@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 1436
Phillip Urquijo, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb phillip.urquijo@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 1218

Lecturers

Matthew Dolan, BA(Hons) Trinity College PhD Cantab matthew.dolan@unimelb.edu.au
David Simpson BSc(Hons) PhD VUsimd@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8744
Stephan Rachel, Diploma PhD Karlsruhe stephan.rachel@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5010

Teaching Staff

Jacinta den Besten jacinta.den@unimelb.edu.au
+61 9035 8432

Research Staff

ARC Discovery Early Career Researchers

Jean-Philippe Tetienne jean-philippe.tetienne@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5114
Laura Wolz laura.wolz@unimelb.edu.au

Research Fellows

Andrew Morganmorganaj@unimelb.edu.au
Arman Ahnoodarman.ahnood@unimelb.edu.au
Benedicta Arhataribenedicta.arhatari@unimelb.edu.au
Federico Bianchini federico.bianchini@unimelb.edu.au
Sydney Boydell sydney.boydell@unimelb.edu.au
Giorgio Busoni giorgio.busoni@unimelb.edu.au
+61 431 262 369
Tyler Corbett tyler.corbett@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7561
Daniel Creedon daniel.creedon@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9305 8522
Nikolai Dontschukdontschuk.n@unimelb.edu.au
David Dossett david.dossett@unimelb.edu.au
Ahmad Galea ahmad.galea@unimelb.edu.au
Kumaravelu Ganesan kganesan@unimelb.edu.au
David Garrettdgarrett@unimelb.edu.au
Nikhel Guptanikhel.gupta@unimelb.edu.au
Timur Gureyev timur.gureyev@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7497
Liam Hall liam.hall@unimelb.edu.au
Charles Hill cdhill@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5435
Alexander Melwin Jakob alexander.jakob@unimelb.edu.au
Brett Johnson johnsonb@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5077
Anthea King anthea.king@unimelb.edu.au
Alex (Oleksandr) Kozlov oleksandr.kozlov@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4013
Jack Line line.j@unimelb.edu.au
Rachel Livermorerlivermore@unimelb.edu.au
Andrew McCulloch mccaj@unimelb.edu.au
Robert Mearns robert.mearns@unimelb.edu.au
Patrick Meyerspat.meyers@unimelb.edu.au
Hannah Middletonhannah.middleton@unimelb.edu.au
Simon Mutch simon.mutch@unimelb.edu.au
Francesco Nuti francesco.nuti@unimelb.edu.au
Evgeniy Panchenko evgeniy.panchenko@unimelb.edu.au
Bart Pindor bpindor@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5428
Daniel Pyke daniel.pyke@unimelb.edu.au
Srinivasan Raghunathan srinivasan.raghunathan@unimelb.edu.au
James Richmond richmond@unimelb.edu.au
Sandra Robles sandra.robles@unimelb.edu.au
Saumitra Saha saumitra.saha@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7541
Federico Scutti federico.scutti@unimelb.edu.au
Jafar Shojaii jafar.shojaii@unimelb.edu.au
Vivek Shrestha vivek.shrestha@unimelb.edu.au
Aleksander Slavec aleksander.slavec@unimelb.edu.au
Bryn Sobott bsobott@unimelb.edu.au
Jingchao Songjesse.song@unimelb.edu.au
Alastair Stacey alastair.stacey@unimelb.edu.au
Melanie Stamp melanie.stamp@unimelb.edu.au
Francesco Tenchini francesco.tenchini@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 086
Chiara Tonini chiara.tonini@unimelb.edu.au
Francesca Ungaro francesca.ungaro@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7561
Muhammad Usman muhammad.usman@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5114
Alexander Wood alexander.wood@unimelb.edu.au
Zhao-Huan Yu zhao-huan.yu@unimelb.edu.au

Resident Honorary Academics

Leslie J Allenlja@unimelb.edu.au
Kenneth Amosamos@unimelb.edu.au
David Bardos dcbardos@unimelb.edu.au
Zwi Barneazwi@unimelb.edu.au
Trevor Finlayson trevorf@unimelb.edu.au
Robert Footrfoot@unimelb.edu.au
Norman E. Frankelnef@unimelb.edu.au
Girish C. Joshigirish@unimelb.edu.au
Anthony G. Kleinklein@unimelb.edu.au
Bruce H. J. McKellarbhjm@unimelb.edu.au
Jeremy Mouldjmould@unimelb.edu.au
Geoffrey G. Shute ggshute@unimelb.edu.au
Max Thompsonmaxwellt@unimelb.edu.au