Academic Staff Directory

The School of Physics has many academics with significant expertise and experience working on global issues.

If you know who you are looking for, please search for them by name or research topic. Results will appear in our Find an Expert system.

Teaching & Research Staff

Head of School

James (Stuart) Burton Wyithe, BSc(Hons) PhD Melbswyithe@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5083

Deputy Head of School

Harry M Quiney, BSc(Hons) MSc Monash MA DPhil Oxonquiney@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8178

ARC Laureate Fellow and Thomas Baker Chair

Lloyd L Hollenberg, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb lloydch@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4210

ARC Future Fellow, R@MAP Fellow & Professor of Physics and Electronic Engineering

Kenneth Crozier, BSc BE(Hons) Melb MS PhD Stanford kenneth.crozier@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 2249

Professors

Luigia (Elisabetta) Barberio, MSc Bologna PhD Siegen barberio@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7072
Christopher T Chantler, BSc(Hons) UWA DPhil Oxon chantler@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5437
David N Jamieson, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb, FAIP FInstP d.jamieson@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3412
Andrew Melatos, BSc(Hons) PhD Syd amelatos@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5436
Steven D Prawer, BSc(Hons) PhD Monash DSc Melb FAA s.prawer@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5460
Ann Roberts, BSc(Hons) PhD Syd ann.roberts@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5038
Robert E Scholten, BSc Adel BSc(Hons) PhD Flinders scholten@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5457
Geoffrey N Taylor, BSc(Hons) MSc WA PhD Hawaii FAA gntaylor@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5456
Raymond R Volkas, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb FAA FAIP raymondv@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5464
Rachel L Webster, BSc Monash MSc Sussex PhD Cantab r.webster@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5450

ARC Future Fellow & Associate Professor and Reader

Nicole F Bell, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb n.bell@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3112

Associate Professors

Michelle K Livett, BSc(Hons) PhD LaTrobe DipEd MCAE m.livett@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8071
Andrew McCallum Martin, BSc(Hons) PhD Lancaster martinam@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 0550
Jeffrey C McCallum, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb jeffreym@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8072
Roger P Rassool, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb rogerpr@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5110
Martin E Sevior, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb FAIP martines@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5438

ARC Future Fellows & Senior Lecturers

Christian Reichardt, BSc PhD Caltech christian.reichardt@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 1436
Michele Trenti, MSc PhD SNS Pisa michele.trenti@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 3703
Phillip Urquijo, BSc(Hons) PhD Melb phillip.urquijo@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 1218

Lecturers

Matthew Dolan, BA(Hons) Trinity College PhD Cantab matthew.dolan@unimelb.edu.au
David Simpson BSc(Hons) PhD VUsimd@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 8744

Teaching Staff

Jacinta den Besten jacinta.den@unimelb.edu.au
+61 9035 8432

Research Staff

ARC Discovery Early Career Researchers

Benjamin McKinley ben.mckinley@unimelb.edu.au
Jean-Philippe Tetienne jean-philippe.tetienne@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5114
Benedetta Vulcani benedetta.vulcani@unimelb.edu.au
Laura Wolz laura.wolz@unimelb.edu.au

Research Fellows

Paul Bennetto, bennettopaul@gmail.com
Federico Bianchini federico.bianchini@unimelb.edu.au
Sydney Boydell sydney.boydell@unimelb.edu.au
Giorgio Busoni giorgio.busoni@unimelb.edu.au
+61 431 262 369
Yi Cai yi.cai@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7561
Tyler Corbett tyler.corbett@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7561
Daniel Creedon daniel.creedon@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 9305 8522
Edmund Dawe edmund.dawe@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5086
David Dossett david.dossett@unimelb.edu.au
Robert Foot rfoot@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5439
Ahmad Galea ahmad.galea@unimelb.edu.au
Kumaravelu Ganesan kganesan@unimelb.edu.au
David Garrettdgarrett@unimelb.edu.au
Paul Geil geil.p@unimelb.edu.au
Timur Gureyev timur.gureyev@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7497
Liam Hall liam.hall@unimelb.edu.au
Charles Hill cdhill@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5435
Alexander Melwin Jakob alexander.jakob@unimelb.edu.au
Brett Johnson johnsonb@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5077
Hansik Kim hansikk@unimelb.edu.au
Anthea King anthea.king@unimelb.edu.au
Alex (Oleksandr) Kozlov oleksandr.kozlov@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 4013
Takashi Kubota kubotat@unimelb.edu.au
Chunhua Li chunhua.li@unimelb.edu.au
Jack Line line.j@unimelb.edu.au
Katherine Mack k.mack@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5430
Andrew Martin andrew.martin@unimelb.edu.au
Andrew McCulloch mccaj@unimelb.edu.au
Robert Mearnes robert.mearns@unimelb.edu.au
Simon Mutch simon.mutch@unimelb.edu.au
Francesco Nuti francesco.nuti@unimelb.edu.au
Evgeniy Panchenko evgeniy.panchenko@unimelb.edu.au
Bart Pindor bpindor@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5428
Daniel Pyke daniel.pyke@unimelb.edu.au
Srinivasan Raghunathan srinivasan.raghunathan@unimelb.edu.au
James Richmond richmond@unimelb.edu.au
Saumitra Saha saumitra.saha@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7541
Federico Scutti federico.scutti@unimelb.edu.au
Jafar Shojaii jafar.shojaii@unimelb.edu.au
Vivek Shrestha vivek.shrestha@unimelb.edu.au
Aleksander Slavec aleksander.slavec@unimelb.edu.au
Bryn Sobott bsobott@unimelb.edu.au
Alastair Stacey alastair.stacey@unimelb.edu.au
Francesco Tenchini francesco.tenchini@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 086
Edoardo Tescari edoardo.tescari@unimelb.edu.au
Chiara Tonini chiara.tonini@unimelb.edu.au
Francesca Ungaro francesca.ungaro@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 7561
Muhammad Usman muhammad.usman@unimelb.edu.au
+61 3 8344 5114
Alexander Wood alexander.wood@unimelb.edu.au
Zhao-Huan Yu zhao-huan.yu@unimelb.edu.au
Daniele Zanzi daniele.zanzi@unimelb.edu.au

Resident Honorary Academics

Leslie J Allen
Kenneth Amos 
David Bardos  
Zwi Barnea 
Trevor Finlayson  
Normal E. Frankel 
Girish C. Joshi 
Anthony G. Klein 
Bruce H. J. McKellar 
Jeremy Mould 
Geoffrey G. Shute  
Max Thompson